Mediterranean Sea.C
Gilat-Migda1
Ramat_Hanadiv3
נחל שיטה_Moment
Ramat_Hanadiv4
AVDAT2
Ramat_Hanadiv2
Migda2
Morris_Kahn1

Vision and Concept

Israel Long-term Ecological Research (LTER) was founded in 1997 and currently includes 13 sites across the countries climate and demographic gradients. The network’s foci include: 1) establishment of a common theoretical framework (ecological integrity); 2) harmonization of data collection to facilitate cross-site research; and 3) the implementation and operation of new socio-ecological (LTSER) research platforms.

This agenda is aligned with the research activities of participating scientists, as well as with existing and developing collaborations with partners in the European LTER network. There are several scientific research projects at the LTER sites and LTSER platforms. Such projects include:
1. Quantification of variables of ecological integrity.
2. EcoPotential – Improving Future Ecosystem Benefits through Earth Observation.
3. Ecosystem integrity and self-organization of ecosystems and landscapes.
4. Critical zones.

LTER sites and LTSER platforms Operator Site Type  Site contact Email
Karei Deshe Ministry of Agriculture Agriculture Dr. Guy Dovrat (ARO) dovrat@volcani.agri.gov.il
Ramat Handiv Ramat Hanadiv Mediterranean Dr. Liat Hadar  (Ramat Hanadiv) Liat@ramathanadiv.org.il
Kdoshim Forest KKL Forest Dr. Yagil Osem (ARO) yagil@volcani.agri.gov.il
Nizanim INPA Dunes Prof. Amos Bouskila (BGU) bouskila@bgu.ac.il
Gilat Ministry of Agriculture Agriculture Dr. Eli Zaady (ARO) zaadye@volcani.agri.gov.il
Yatir Forest KKL Forest Dr. Tamir Klein, Prof. Dan Yakir (Weizmann) tamir.klein@weizmann.ac.il; dan.yakir@weizmann.ac.il
Park Shaked KKL Desert Dr. Shayli Dor-Haim (ADSSC) shaylidh@post.bgu.ac.il
Shagririm Forest KKL Forest Dr. Eli Argeman (ARO) Eliar@moag.gov.il
Avdat BGU and HU Desert Prof. Arnon Karnieli (BGU) karnieli@bgu.ac.il
Ramon INPA Desert Dr. Elli Groner (ADSSC) elli@adssc.org
Shita Wadi KKL Desert Hyper arid Dr. Nitzan Segev (ADSSC) nitzan@adssc.org
LTSER Negev Highland ADSCC Platform Dr. Noa Avni (ADSSC) noa@adssc.org
LTSER Northern Negev ADSCC Platform Dr. Shayli Dor-Haim (ADSSC) shaylidh@post.bgu.ac.il
LTSER Ramat Handiv Ramat Hanadiv Platform Dr. Liat Hadar (Ramat Hanadiv) Liat@ramathanadiv.org.il
LTSER Arava Platform  

OUR PARTNERS